Gear and Motor Setup for ‘The Pasta Cycle’

March 2, 2008

gear-and-motor.jpg

I want to make a 2×2 foot rotating circle as part of my project. I am using a large DC motor with a 12V power supply and a simple gear setup. The motor is connected to an Arduino micro-processor through a TIP120 transistor. I am using a potentiometer to control the PWM (Pulse Width Modulation) signal and drive the motor at different speeds. I got all the gears out of broken inkjet printer. The next thing I have to do is figure out how to drive the motor more slowly, which is proving difficult using PWM. I may try altering the voltage the motor is getting in hopes of slowing it down a bit, and also keeping it running steadily. The PWM is pretty choppy and you can hear the motor turning on and off.

Leave a Reply

