The Red Skull

April 17, 2008

There is a part of my childhood that I spent watching old Captain America episodes on VHS tapes. I only had 5 or 6 episodes, but I liked them enough to watch them lots and lots of times. After looking at these pictures I took of my artwork in my room and the environment I created, it dawned on me that maybe something inside my head might have been affected by the Red Skull… the evil-doer Captain America always bashes on the head with his USA-themed shield. Both of my parents know a thing or two about psycho-analysis. I think this is a pretty apt example of me learning from them by osmosis. But seriously… I drew a face on that drawing quite similar to the Red Skull, I chose to put red light-bulbs there, and there is a life-size (fake) skull sitting on the mantel over my bed. In the drawing (one I make very instinctively), you can also see the US Airforce logo and a tank, both symbols used a ton in that comic, and a lot of the toys and models that I used to play with. I forgot that the Red Skull was a Nazi until I downloaded this picture.

2 Responses to “The Red Skull”

  1. E.tienne. Says:

    I dont get it, Marvel Comics made a Nazi bad guy?
    weird.. really weird..
    This villain must represent all those weird stuff Nazi’s did,
    like cutting babies out of their Mom before being Born?

  2. Joe Says:

    Where did you get this image of the Red Skull? I’m trying to find out where it originated as I need a hi resolution file of this.
    Thanks,
    Joe


Leave a Reply

